Try 1 month for 99¢

Tristan Durbiano made a lot of stops for the Santa Ynez boys water polo team. His teammate, Keller Haws, made a lot happen on offense and defense.

Those two are the  All-Los Padres League Boys Water Polo co-MVPs. Goalkeeper Durbiano is a senior. Haws is a junior. Coach Jake Kalkowski guided the Pirates to another league title.

102617 SY Cabrillo water polo 04.jpg

Santa Ynez goalie Tristan Durbiano prevents a shot by Cabrillo's Josh Rowe during the Los Padres League final at Santa Maria High School on Oct. 26. On Wednesday, Durbiano was named the LPL co-MVP along with teammate Keller Haws.

Santa Ynez and Cabrillo went 1-2 in the Los Padres League, and those teams landed four and three players on the All-LPL First Team respectively.

Cabrillo senior goalie Mitch Foster is on the All-League First Team. The rest of the First Team members are field position players.

The four Pirates on the First Team are seniors Nolan Morrison, Connor Hiatt and Allen Clarke, and sophomore Henry Allen. Foster's First Team teammates are junior Josh Rowe and senior Olat Luna. Nipomo senior Blake Hudson rounds out the First Team.

Two junior goalies, Jordan Cramer of Nipomo and Tommy Herrera of Santa Maria are on the All-LPL Second Team. Three Santa Ynez field position players, sophomores Jacob Thielst and Jace Grieco and senior Colin Jamison, are also on the Second Team.

102417 Water Polo-Nipomo at Santa Maria 07.jpg

Santa Maria goalie Tommy Herrera blocks a shot during Santa Maria's Los Padres League tournament game against Nipomo at Santa Maria High School. Herrera was named to the Second Team All-LPL team on Wednesday.

Cabrillo junior Garrett Stanton and senior Issac Thomas are on the Second Team. So is Santa Maria senior Vincent Alvarez. All of the Second Team players except Cramer and Herrera are field position players.

Sophomores Luke Benchek of Cabrillo and Clayton Davidson of Santa Ynez, along with seniors Evan Chavarria of Nipomo and Jose Cuevas of Santa Maria, earned honorable mention.

Girls volleyball

Templeton, under coach Cameron Schaeffer, won the Los Padres League girls volleyball championship. Templeton junior Lauren Reeves is listed as the co-MVP of the league. The name of the other co-MVP was not listed.

Templeton junior outside hitter Cheyenne Rice, junior setter Camryn Roth and senior middle blocker Valen Shaw all made the All-LPL First Team.

Santa Ynez and Morro Bay also had three players on the First Team. Santa Ynez First Team members include junior middle blocker Gillian Wilks and outside hitter Lauren Fieldhouse, and senior setter Aile Uribe. Morro Bay First Team members include senior setter Erin Desjardins, junior middle blocker Delaney Siegmund and libero Ally Rose.

101917 SY SM volleyball 12.jpg

Santa Ynez' Gillian Wilks, right, hits over a block by Santa Maria's Laisha Real (4) and Joahna Riviera (9).

Nipomo First Team members are two seniors, outside hitter Mackenzie Bland and right side hitter Leanna Jackson. Senior Cabrillo outside hitter Alyssa Stewart, Orcutt Academy freshman outside hitter Zaley Bennett and Lompoc junior outside hitter Isabella Robles are also on the First Team.

082417 RHS NHS volleyball 06.jpg

Nipomo's Mackenzie Bland, left, and Michelle Rasgado pass a Righetti serve during an Aug. 24 match. Bland was named to the All-LPL First Team.

Middle blocker Kylee Tachovsky and libero Maya Kerey of Templeton, both juniors, are on the LPL Second Team. So are Santa Ynez junior opposite Marlies Cortez and senior libero Sam Graciano.

Nipomo, with junior setter Jenna Lane and junior libero Abbey Gutierrez, has two players on the All-LPL Second Team. Morro Bay also has two players on the Second Team, junior defensive specialists Kennedy Robinette and Skyllar Evans.

Cabrillo sophomore middle blocker Morgan McIntyre, Lomoc junior middle blocker Esperanza Aepeda, Orcutt Academy senior Jakelyn Shippy and Santa Maria junior libero Saisha Kahae are also on the Second Team.

Seniors Leanna Zamora of Santa Ynez, Rodaysha Canton of Nipomo, Jillien Smith of Cabrillo and Carla Bort of Orcutt Academy, along with Lompoc junior Logan Blanco and Santa Maria junior Joahna Rivera, earned honorable mention. 

Boys basketball

Westlake 67, St. Joseph 56

The Knights dropped their season opener against Westlake in a game played at Oxnard High School.

Tevesi Auau and Elihu Cobb each led the Knights with 12 points apiece. Cobb had a double-double with 10 rebounds.

Auau had seven rebounds. Matt Chavez added 11 points and five boards for the Knights and Mike Ramirez had eight points and six assists.

Deon Francois led Westlake with 30 points.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter