VOTE ON ALL THREE SITES! Voting closes on Wednesday, January 6 at 5 p.m. The winners will be fully decided by online voters throughout the contest. 

Santa Maria Times | Lompoc Record | Santa Ynez Valley News

(Vote totals from all three sites will be combined to determine the winners).

The time has come. After weeks and weeks of going over the candidates, the real competition now begins.

The Times' Player of the Decade series is ready for another round of voting, this time with boys basketball taking center stage after exhilarating competitions in football and girls basketball.

There are 16 nominees, mirroring a regional bracket in the NCAA men's basketball tournament. That means there will be eight first-round matchups before the competition is whittled down to an Elite Eight and a Final Four.

The top four seeds in the opening round are some of the greatest players the area has seen. The No. 1 seed is former Righetti standout Cameron Walker, who played at Stanford after graduating in 2015. The No. 2 seed is Quinton Adlesh, a Mission Prep grad who played at Columbia and USC. JoJo Walker, a former St. Joseph Knight, is the No. 3 seed. Arroyo Grande graduate Brent VanderVeen is the No. 4 seed.