Try 1 month for 99¢

Matt Sauer will likely face a big decision soon about his future.

Meanwhile, he took care of business for the Righetti baseball team in the recent past.

Sauer has already signed with the University of Arizona. The senior right-handed pitcher also figures to go very high in the next Major League Baseball draft, so he will likely face a dilemma as to whether or not his next team will be collegiate or professional.

For now, he is the 2017 PAC 8 League Baseball MVP. Sauer finished with a 0.98 ERA his senior year. His ERA dipped under one when he pitched a three-hit complete game shutout in Righetti's 1-0 win at Lancaster Paraclete in the semifinals of the CIF Southern Section Division 3 Baseball Playoffs.

He struck out 142 batters in 78 innings and walked just 31. Oh, yes, Sauer also led the team in batting average at .427 and was third on the squad in RBIs with 24.

The second-seeded Warriors ultimately lost 13-2 to third-seeded Walnut in the Division 3 championship game. Sauer helped the Warriors to a PAC 8 co-championship with Paso Robles.

Nolan Binkele pitched the Bearcats to a share of the PAC 8 title. The Paso Robles senior is the PAC 8 Pitcher of the Year.

Four Warriors and three Bearcats are on the All-PAC 8 League First Team. Seniors Mitchell Bagby and Alex Castellanos formed the rest of Righetti's three-man starting rotation. Castellanos (11-0, 3.28 ERA) and Bagby (8-3, 3.06 ERA) are both on the first team.

Paso Robles juniors Will Stroud and Dylan Lewis, and senior Mark Armstrong are also on the first team.

Arroyo Grande seniors Dawson Rubio and Zach Bullard, Atascadero seniors Lucas Sprouse and Tysen Delkener, Mission Prep sophomore Dylan Beavers, Pioneer Valley senior Tony Rodriguez, San Luis Obispo junior Ollie Hicks and St. Joseph senior Steelee Morgan round out the All-PAC 8 first team. 

The second team consists of junior Mike McLean and senior Jake Shusterich of Arroyo Grande; junior Nolan Meredith and senior Wyatt Peysar of Atascadero; Mission Prep junior Sage Pera; Paso Robles junior Oscar Rendon and senior Seth Matthysee; Pioneer Valley junior Matt Garcia; Righetti juniors Weston Hammell and Jaden LyBurtus, and senior Tanner Sampson; San Luis Obispo junior Will Compton and senior Ben Lemiere; and St. Joseph junior Zach Morris.

Arroyo Grande senior Marcos Salto, Pioneer Valley senior Nick Herrera, Righetti junior Ryan Clayton and St. Joseph junior Jamison Stahl were all honorable mention. 


PAC 8 League MVP Marissa Piatt led league champion San Luis Obispo in just about everything when it came to offense.

She hit an eye-popping .560.  The senior also led the Tigers in home runs (six) and doubles (seven), and tied for the team in triples (four).

Piatt's freshman teammate, Malia Xiao Gin, and Arroyo Grande senior Julie Lewis are the PAC 8 Pitchers of the Year.

Four Tigers landed spots on the All-PAC 8 League First Team, including juniors Natalie Ziegler and Bridget Danninger, senior Lorin Tapp and sophomore Sabrina Marks.

The rest of the first team consists of Arroyo Grande seniors Sam Oliver, Bri Sa and Logan Nunes; Atascadero senior Sarah Wulff; Mission Prep freshman Anna Reed; Paso Robles junior Crystal Linn and sophomore Brooke Milder; Pioneer Valley junior Vanessa Gomez; Righetti senior Delanie Wisz and junior Gaby Arelllano; and St. Joseph sophomore Halli Hunter.

The second team consists of Arroyo Grande seniors Kacie Burger and Lauryn Schaffer; Atascadero senior Megan McClain and freshman Bailey Doherty; Mission Prep freshman Delanie Beavers; Paso Robles senior Nicole Raithel and sophomore Lya Abel; Pioner Valley senior Alyssa Gonzales; Righetti senior Crytsal Gonzales and junior Julia Jones; San Luis Obispo sophomores Samantha Gibbs and Kaitlyn Sandoval, and junior Amanda Marcum;; and St. Joseph junior Ally Dias.

Arroyo Grande senior Kaycie Bozarth, Righetti junior Sicili Brittingham, Pioneer Valley senior Siana Castillo and St. Joseph junior Paige Huguenard all earned honorable mention.

Boys volleyball

Arroyo Grande continued its PAC 8 League dominance, and seniors Sasha Bylsma and Brett MacDonald helped the Eagles do it. Those two are the PAC 8 co-MVPs.

Teammates Jackson Tourdot (junior) and Mathew Wingerden (senior) are both on the All-PAC 8 League First Team. The rest of the first team consists of Mission Prep senior Kyle Theule; Paso Robles junior Ethan Todd; Righetti sophomore Chuck Koertge; and San Luis Obispo juniors Sawyer McSorley and Drew Maas.

The second team consists of Arroyo Grande senior Andy VanBogelen and junior AJ Panetta; Paso Robles senior Micah Canales; Righetti junior Mason Passmore; San Luis Obispo seniors Matteo Cicognani and Marko Sajic; and St. Joseph senior Landon Ma'a.

Arroyo Grande junior Noah Nailor, Pioneer Valley senior Joey Aguilar, Righetti sophomore Andrew White, and St. Joseph seniors Brandon Cantor and Matthew Plummer all earned honorable mention.

Boys golf

League individual champion Jack Avrit of Arroyo Grande, a senior, is the league MVP. The Eagles have won the PAC 8 League title for the past several seasons.

The All-PAC 8 League First Team consists of Arroyo Grande sophomore Owen Avrit; Righetti junior Ethan Ashbrook and senior Keith Moles; San Luis Obispo senior Coleman Godfrey and junior Casey Leebrick; and St. Joseph sophomore Luke Adam.

The second team consists of Arroyo Grande senior Brady MacMurphey and junior Andrew Burdick; Righetti sophomore Joe Moles; Paso Robles seniors Bailey Flickinger and Logan Elliot; and San Luis Obispo sophomore Jeff Perry. 

Boys tennis

PAC 8 League Tournament singles and doubles champions and runners-up comprised the All-League first team. Third and fourth-place singles and doubles finishers comprised the second team.

The All-PAC 8 League First Team Singles consists of San Luis Obispo junior Zach Hilty and Arroyo Grande freshman Sam Ashbrook. The First Team Doubles consists of the Arroyo Grande tandems of Tyler Tencati (senior) and Austin Bricker (junior), and seniors Patrick Angle and  Parker Turner.

The Second Team Singles consists of San Luis Obispo sophomore Sam Johnson and Arroyo Grande senior Greg Haydon. The Second Team Doubles consists of San Luis Obispo tandems Kavi Freyaldenhoven and Roy Ihatsu, and Kannan Freyaldenhoven and Sid Alwin.

All except junior Kavi Freyaldenhoven are seniors.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Saturday: The All-Los Padres League spring season teams are released.


Sports Reporter