You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Candidates finalized for Santa Maria City Council, mayoral seats
alert top story
Election 2020

Candidates finalized for Santa Maria City Council, mayoral seats

Santa Maria voters will see a mix of incumbents and challengers on the Nov. 3 ballot, with the final list of candidates confirmed for the City Council districts 1 and 2 seats, the mayor's seat, and the positions of city treasurer and city clerk. 

The filing period for candidates opened July 13 and closed Aug. 7, during which time candidates had to complete filing paperwork and City Council candidates were required to collect at least 20 signatures from members of their district. 

The list of candidates will be posted on the city elections page later this week after the order of candidates is determined for the ballot, Deputy City Clerk Beth Cleary said. 

While the mayor, city clerk and treasurer positions are elected in a citywide race, this year will be the first time the City Council features representatives from four distinct districts, finalized in 2017, with candidates elected by voters from their district. 

In 2018, council members Etta Waterfield and Gloria Soto were elected to available positions for Districts 3 and 4, respectively. Council members Mike Cordero and Michael Moats were permitted to finish their terms through 2020 before facing district elections.

City Council candidates running this year are required to be from the districts they represent, making District 2-based Cordero eligible to seek re-election, but Moats ineligible. 

According to Cleary, there are no term limits for the mayor or City Council positions that restrict who may seek re-election.

Since the start of the filing period, Gary Michaels, who filed to run for Santa Maria City Council's District 1 in May, is confirmed to no longer be running for the position. 

With that, here are the final candidates who have filed to run in the Nov. 3 election:

Santa Maria City mayor

Alice Patino — Incumbent

Will Smith — Challenger

Alberto Ugalde — Challenger

Santa Maria City Council, District 1

Brian Billones — Challenger

Christopher Diaz — Challenger

Carlos Esobedo — Challenger

Osvaldo Sotelo — Challenger

Santa Maria City Council, District 2

Mike Cordero — Incumbent

Santa Maria city treasurer

Teressa Hall - Incumbent

Santa Maria city clerk

Patti Rodriguez — Incumbent 

Registering to vote

Santa Maria residents must register before Monday, Oct. 19, to vote in the Nov. 3 election.

Voter registration forms are available by request at City Hall, 110 E. Cook St.; the Santa Maria Public Library, 421 S. McClelland St.; and at the County Elections Office, 511 E. Lakeside Parkway. Postage is prepaid on the registration forms.

Online registration is available through the secretary of state’s website at However, city officials don’t advise registering online within 45 days of the election, because the registration may not be processed in time to vote Nov. 3.

For information about Santa Maria’s election, qualifications for an elected office and voter registration, call the City Clerk’s Office or visit the city’s elections webpage at


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Santa Maria City Reporter

Originally from the Pacific Northwest, Laura Place covers city government, policy and elections in Santa Maria and Santa Barbara County. Follow her on Twitter @itslaurasplace

Related to this story

Most Popular

  • Updated

The following is taken from the Santa Maria Police Department's calls-for-service log and the Santa Barbara County Sheriff's Office daily arrest log. Those appearing as "arrested" are only suspected of the crime indicated but are presumed innocent.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News