Subscribe for 33¢ / day

St. Joseph High School’s C.J. Cole completed an unusual triple while Arroyo Grande High School made it a clean sweep Thursday at the PAC 8 League’s Track and Field Championships at Atascadero’s High School’s Memorial Stadium.

Cole won the 100-yard dash for the third straight year, winning this year in 10.96 seconds. Race officials said they believe it’s the first time anyone has won the 100 three years in a row. But it was the Arroyo Grande Eagles that won both the girls and boys league titles.

“I was happy with that,” said Cole of his championship run. “I was fourth coming into the final so I was in Lane 7. I had a good start – one of my best – got out well and just held it to the finish.”

San Luis Obispo High teammates Caius Cowgill and Dylan Archer finished second and third, respectively.

Cole and his St. Joseph teammates – Kaleb Monette, Fenton Will and Michael Powers – just missed repeating as the 4x100 relay champions.

A slow handoff cost the Knights a fraction of a second but it was enough to let San Luis Obispo slip by for the win – 43.31 to 43.72 seconds with Paso Robles coming in third.

“It wasn’t what we were hoping for but we’ll still be going to CIF next week,” said Powers.

Cole later competed in the boys shot put, finishing fifth with a throw of 46 feet, 3.5 inches.

Arroyo Grande’s Eddie Chagoya won the shot with a 54-10.5 throw. Paso Robles' Jacob Franklin finished second with A.G.’s Sam Soensken third.

Chagoya also won the discus with a throw of 167-11.5 with Franklin finishing second again and A.G.'s Joey Kraut third.

Matt Sill had a huge day for Arroyo Grande. He got it started with a win in the boys triple jump (42-2) and won the long jump with a jump of 21-9.5, the 300 hurdles in 39.18 and finished second in the 100 hurdles.

Arroyo Grande’s teammate Justice Fair won the 110 hurdles in 15:30 and later finished second the Sill in the 300 hurdles.

Atascadero’s Mathew Lyons finished third in both hurdles races.

San Luis Obispo’s Shaina Morris won the girls long jump, edging A.G’s Samantha Oliver and SLO’s Anneke Moersdorf.

Morris and Moersdorf were the top two qualifiers and those jumps carried over to Thursday’s finals.

So they both passed through to the final jump but after Oliver hit a 17-6.25 jump to move into first place, both SLO girls returned for their final jump with Morris nailing her winner while Moersdorf fell to third.

Moersdorf later won the girls high jump with a jump of 5-4 and the girls triple jump – leading a SLO sweep in that event.

Arroyo Grande picked up first and second in the high jump with Vincent Ketelaar winning with a jump of 6-4 with Justice Fair taking second.

Atascadero’s Sabrina Van Beek won the girls shot put with a throw of 35-3.5, edging A.G. teammates Amber Martin and Alexis Harrigan.

Paso Robles’ Codie Wilshusen set a personal and league record with a jump of 12-4 in the girls high jump and again, two Arroyo Grande girls – JuJu Fuller and Taryn Tweedy – finished second and third.

“It’s been a really rough season,” said Wilshusen. “It was really god to not only set my personal record today but to set two personal records (Wilshusen’s earlier jump of 12-2 was her first PR of the day). It felt really good. I really enjoyed it.”

Paso Robles then won the girls 4x100 relay, beating Atascadero and Mission Prep.

SLO’s Callum Bolger won the boys 1,600 and the boys 800.

Paso’s Madison Mitchell won the girls 110 hurdles, edging Righetti’s Kailani Cabanting and Pioneer Valley’s Cherry Inay.

Paso Robles’ Annie Meeder won the girls 1,600.

Paso Robles’ Madeline Fletcher won the girls 400, SLO’s Nate Higgins won the boys 400, Atascadero’s Brittney McKinley won the girls 100 and 200 while SLO’s Cowgill won the boys 200, A.G.’s Spencer Eley won the boys pole vault, A.G.’s Talley Hill won the girls 800, Paso’s Madison Mitchell won the girls 300 hurdles while Bolger won the boys, A.G.’s Amber Martin won the girls discus, Paso’s Annie Meeder won the girls 3,200 while SLO beat A.G. to win the girls 4x400 relay and SLO beat A.G. to win the boys 4x100.

Arroyo Grande finished first in the girls standings followed by San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, Atascadero, Mission Prep, Pioneer Valley, Righetti and St. Joseph.

Arroyo Grande also won the boys team event followed by San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, St, Joseph, Atascadero, Righetti and Pioneer Valley.

The CIF Southern Section preliminaries will be held next Saturday at several different locations through the section.

You can get complete PAC 8 League championship results online at


Senior Sports Reporter