Senior Blake Truhitte did a lot in a lot of areas for the Santa Maria football team during its 2017 run to the Northern League title and a divisional championship game.

Both were firsts for the Saints under third-year coach Dan Ellington. 

As a result, Truhitte is the Northern League MVP. Santa Maria went 3-0 in the Northern League and reached the CIF Southern Section Division 12 championship game where a 37-23 loss to Big Bear on Dec. 2 ended the Saints' seven-game winning streak.

As Santa Maria's quarterback, Truhitte ran for 31 touchdowns and threw for 25. He passed for 2,348 yards and ran for 2,026. Truhitte threw 13 interceptions.

He was a mainstay on defense in the secondary and was also Santa Maria's punter.

Truhitte's senior teammate, Johnathan Ramos, is the Northern League's Offensive Back of the Year. Ramos caught 51 passes for a total of 1,076 yards and nine touchdowns. He ran for another 141 yards and a score.

With his blocking, Jesus Zul helped the Santa Maria offense average slightly more than 450 total yards a game. The senior is the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

The other top All-Northern League award winners are all seniors. Nipomo's Gage Wynn is the Defensive Back of the Year. Myles Minnis of Morro Bay and Colton Boronda of Templeton are co-Defensive Linemen of the Year. Nipomo teammates Jedu Matautia-Reyes and Simon Rodriguez are the co-All-Purpose Players of the Year.

Santa Maria senior Robert Ruiz ran for 1,094 yards and eight touchdowns, and Nipomo senior Luis-Diego Riquelme ran for another 714 yards and five scores. They are the All-Northern League First Team Offense's running backs.

Nipomo sophomore Brayden Groshart's passing numbers gradually picked up as the season went on, and he wound up throwing for 1,439 yards, with 10 touchdown passes and nine interceptions. He and Morro Bay junior Aidan Moriarty are the First Team Offense co-quarterbacks.

The First Team Offense's linemen are Santa Maria senior Gabriel Bravo and junior Jesus Joaquin, Templeton junior Kade Gaertner, Morro Bay senior Luke Buentiempo and Nipomo sophomore Jason Fryckman. The tight end is Santa Maria senior Gerardo Zul.

The wide receivers are juniors John Rojas of Santa Maria and Xavier Bruce of Morro Bay. Rojas' numbers climbed as he made some key receptions in late-season games. Rojas finished with 458 yards and six touchdown catches.

The fullback is Nipomo senior Elyaz Pu'a. Besides being a tough blocker, Pu'a averaged 6.2 yards a rush on 17 carries and scored two touchdowns. The punter is Pu'a's junior teammate, Ricky Iniguez.

The linemen on the First Team Defense are seniors Ricky Maize of Morro Bay, Robert Buenrostro of Nipomo and Austin Domingos of Templeton, and  Santa Maria sophomore Jason Sanchez.

The linebackers are Nipomo junior Anthony Perez and sophomore Jesse Garza, Santa Maria senior Frank Lopez and Morro Bay senior Mike Unks. The defensive backs are seniors Adrian Ayala of Santa Maria and Scott Reavy of Morro Bay, and juniors Wyatt Omohundro of Nipomo and Jack Sullenger of Templeton. The kicker is Santa Maria senior Diego Villagran.

The Second Team Offense's linemen are Nipomo sophomore Oscar Andersen and Morro Bay senior Bryce Foster.

The wide receivers are Nipomo junior Cole Bajema and Templeton senior Jesse McClain. The quarterback is Templeton senior Isaiah Harrold. The punter is Morro Bay junior Pedro Morales.

The Second Team Defense's lineman is Morro Bay junior Tanner Daugherty. The linebackers are seniors Reed Hayes of Templeton, and Nico Calanchini of Morro Bay, and Nipomo freshman Keyshawn Pu'a.

The defensive backs are seniors Taylor Miller and Chase Howland of Templeton, Jose Venegas of Santa Maria and Andy Knighton of Morro Bay. 


Sports Reporter